Not all wine is vegan!?
TRUE STORY! Not all wine is vegan and I’m going to tell you why…
All “young” wine is hazy and contains little proteins, tannins, tartrates, and phenolics. This is completely natural and is not harmful. However, wine drinkers tend to prefer their wine to be beautifully clear and bright!
If these young wines are able to sit long enough, they self-stabilize and self-fine, creating that clear and bright appearance. However, wine producers typically use a variety of products that are “fining agents” to make this process move along faster so that the wine is not hazy.
The most common fining agents are casein (milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein), and isinglass (fish bladder protein.. eww). They are not considered additives as they are precipitated out of the wine along with the molecules that create the “hazy” appearance.
How can I tell if a wine has been processed using these agents?
If you are a vegan, there is no easy way to tell if the wine you are drinking has contained these agents or not.. they are not listed on the bottle. The only real sure way is to ask the winemakers or purchase from organic type wine stores.
Lucky for you, I have a way to assure that you are getting vegan wines that haven’t been processed with these agents. You can go to Primal Wine (which is where all of the pictured wines are from here) and use code PRETTYPURE for 15% off your wine purchase.
Primal Wine makes ordering extremely easy and ships and arrives quickly via UPS to your doorstep! They also carry all sorts of wines from all over the world. Enjoy!